I like

I like this way you fight with friends (and then make-up)
I like not that you fight with me

I like this eyes in my mirror, yours
I like not that my mirror is alone

I like this you want to be cared for
I like not you won’t let me care

I like this looking into oceanic eyes
I like not that they don’t look back

I like this buying you odd gifts
I like not that you make it seem odd

I like this you talking to me
I like not the strange silences

I like this that you sense me
I like not the way I hid myself

I like this you call me funny
I like not this you call me funny

I like this past we shared
I like not the way you rue it

I like this, that and all about you
I like not this, that and all about now

(I wanted to write a poem and all day that I was driving around, this poem by Rumi kept coming to my head. I loved the way he uses ‘like this’ in a grand, swooping finale end of each stanza. A slightly irregular attempt but I was adamant my poem started with ‘I like this’ and hence, it’s like this. Amused?)

I like

35 thoughts on “I like

  1. its quite good infact.

    These lines
    “I like this buying you odd gifts
    I like not that you make it seem odd”

    So strikes a chord. For so many reasons.

    This one”I like this you call me funny
    I like not this you call me funny”

    This too i so can empathise with.

    My most fav is :I like this, that and all about you
    I like not this, that and all about now

  2. @sin: hahaha…grrr!

    Note to all: Comments about the handsome author’s photoshop skills or photogenic value will be not taken too kindly!

    Thank you come again :)

  3. Madhuri says:

    Do I even have to say anything? Then I will,in one word – TERRIFIC!

    Also, U know that “I like all about U!” :)

  4. swapnil says:

    Ok … I went thru this one thrice .. given my miserly level of grey matter … sweet and very nice … I like this that I know I like this, I like not that I know why!!!

  5. swapnil says:

    sorry … it was meant to say I like this that I know I like this, I like not that I know not why!!!

  6. Aayisha says:

    I like this past we shared
    I like not the way you rue it

    They are so bang on…

    I like this, that and all about you
    I like not this, that and all about now

    And so are these…….

    It feels like you have summed up life in these four lines!

  7. dodo says:

    Hmm….I am trying to go beyond the poem….I am trying to surmise the motivation behind it…..hmmmmmmm

  8. sandeep says:

    lovely one maga!! I first thought you had quoted a poem…and only now realized that you have written it. Looks like a lot of “experience” has gone into this one… :-)

  9. ~tanima~ says:

    ~I like this looking into oceanic eyes
    I like not that they don’t look back~

    we all want to be looked back into. i like, very much. and i like rumi.

  10. @sandeep: Thanks maga… very flattering to know you thought it was a poem worth quoting ;)

    @~tanima~: I like you like it very much ! yeah rumi is fantastic.. one of the first inspirations for my attempts at poetry! btw, how r u doing? In touch with YT?

  11. ~tanima~ says:

    doing goodings only :)
    alas, no YT. tooooo much work, 12th standard plus we’re putting up quite a big production in school, so i have my acting quota dealt with.
    how be you?

  12. Very well thought out ! Keeps you interested, those alternate turns of phrase.

    And I had seen some kind of password protection on your blog a few months back … Good to see you continue blogging, I hardly find the time these days!

  13. @tanima: 12th now?? :o are you turning younger by the day?? I thought you were already in your 12th and hence, break from YT and all. I am good, in the middle of job changes and so no YT for me as well.

    @shamit: Thanks! Yes, I noticed you hardly blog these days! Work’s hectic uh?

  14. ~tanima~ says:

    ehh…everyone gets my age wrong! i’m in the 12th now.
    job changes…fun, i suppose. i’d hate being stuck with one thing for the rest of my life.

  15. @tanima: :) It is fun and scary yes. And likewise on that thought – hate to be stuck to one thing

    @Nakul: Koi risk nahi…Honored that you took time out to visit :P ….. Though I must know about this chord of yours… you never told me.

  16. @dodo: Too lost to write maga… but yes, the trip is a good place to start off with!

    @sheela: Yes crossroad in more ways than one… will write about all the changes may be!

  17. Vinay says:

    Hi maga, this is vinay karajagi . that poem “i like” is brilliant. I got the link to ur blog from ashwini, i can relate to this poem as much as u do. Very well written!!. Keep them coming

  18. Thanks maga!! will do as and when inspiration comes through :) … maga, why don’t you start writing too? I hear the talents are very supressed!

Leave a Reply

